Budget 2019: Malaysians Travelling Abroad Will Have To Pay Departure Levy
Author Avatar


Budget 2019: Malaysians Travelling Abroad Will Have To Pay Departure Levy

Malaysians will have to pay a new “departure levy” when they are travelling abroad starting 1 June 2019.

The proposed rate is broken into two tiers: RM20 for outbound travellers to ASEAN countries, and RM40 to countries other than ASEAN. The government is imposing this tax as a means to encourage domestic tourism. A secondary measure for this is also to declare Pangkor island as a duty-free island, and also expand Langkawi’s duty-free status. Finally, Port Swettenham in Penang will also feature duty-free shops.

According to Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng, this departure levy is similar to other countries, and the proposed rate is consistent or not more than what many other countries are charging. For example, Thailand’s departure levy is US$20 (around RM83), while the taxes for Hong Kong and Japan are US$15 (around RM62) and US$10 (around RM42) respectively.


0 0 votes
Article Rating


Comments (0)

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Top Budget 2019 Articles
Post Image
Budget 2019: BR1M Renamed As Bantuan Sara Hidup; Offers Cash Assistance For B40 Households
Pang Tun Yau
- 3rd November 2018
The new Malaysian government will continue the cash grant program from the previous administration as a means of assisting the B40 households.
Post Image
LHDN Notifications On SVDP Only For Those Earning RM4,000 And Above
Olivia Song
- 7th February 2019
Letters and emails have been sent out to ensure those earning RM4,000 and above declare their income and register as taxpayers under the Special Voluntary Disclosure Programme.
Post Image
How To Make The Most Out Of The New Budget 2019 Incentives
Pang Tun Yau
- 7th November 2018
Now that the Budget 2019 dust has settled, let’s take a look at what you can do to make the most of the new incentives.
Post Image
Budget 2019: 10 Key Highlights
Jacie Tan
- 6th November 2018
From taxes to financial assistance, here are the most important takeaways from the tabling of Budget 2019.

Related articles

Related Posts Image
Related Posts Image
Related Posts Image
Related Posts Image